Underdog

underdog-1

Underdog

I enjoy watching most sport events on T.V. Sometimes, for certain sports, my wife will join me. I might convince her that the football or hockey game that I’m viewing is worthwhile joining me for. I’ll help with some explanations and, being the good sport that she is, she’ll briefly sit with me.

The exception is tennis which we both genuinely enjoy watching. As usual with most spectacles, I always root for the underdog.

I don’t know why that’s so. I’ll have to ask my therapist one day. The exception is any team that is associated with Montreal. So, if Montreal is the favourite in a certain hockey or football game, I will root for my home team. In fact, if Montreal is seriously favored I might project and become worried that the team’s superiority will go to its players’ heads and lead to a loss. It’s happened before…

But for any other city, any other team, any other player, I’ll cheer for the one less expected to come away with the victory.

Naomi is different. She respects excellence, and will often cheer on the superior team/player.

Except today. In the semi-final match between #1 seed Novak Djokovic and #10 seed Kei Nishikori of Japan at today’s U.S. Tennis Open, we were both rooting for Nishikori, even though we know nothing of him and were seeing him play for the first time.

And so it goes. I think that the only time I celebrated the victory of a favorite was when Andy Murray won at Wimbledon. Look closer, however, and you’ll see that Britain had suffered a lack of champions at its own event for many years, so we were still rooting for the underdog. If Murray were to win there many times, or even on a few occasions, I think that my allegiances would gravitate to the underdog again.

To repeat, I’m not sure why I almost always root for the underdog. And I might never know why. I was kidding about the therapist. I’m not seeing one right now.

P.S. When Nishikori won the semi-final today, I did a little 30-second jig, I was that happy.

 Underdog_by_Joeville

Leave a Reply

